Paul Bunyan Award

The Paul Bunyan Award: A special award which recognizes the special role that the Region 10 played in the first 50 years of BSA Wilderness Canoeing (1923-1972) at Northern Tier.

The original participant emblem was called the Special Paul Bunyan Award. It was only described in the earliest historical documents.
This award is a reconstitution of the original participation award.
  • This award will be available during the 2022 and 2023 summer canoeing seasons to:
    • All *Region Ten crews participating in the summer canoeing programs of the Northern Tier.
    • Crews completing one of two Special Historical Trips offered:
      • The Charles L. Sommers Trek 
      • The Paul R. Christen Trek 
    • Any 2022 or 2023 Northern Tier summer canoeing crew that completes 100 miles of canoeing and portaging.

*Region 10 Councils:

Northern Lights – Fargo
Black Hills Area – Rapid City
Sioux – Sioux Falls
Voyageurs Area – Hermantown (Duluth)
Central Minnesota – Sartell (St. Cloud)
Northern Star – Fort Snelling (Twin Cities)
Twin Valley – Mankato
Gamehaven – Rochester
Montana – Great Falls